Certificate IV in Work Health and Safety


Combined Online and Skills Assessment & RPL





BSB41419 — Certificate IV in Work Health and Safety (WHS) is a nationally recognised qualification designed to provide students with the skills and knowledge required to work in the field of WHS. This course is ideal for individuals who are seeking a career in workplace health and safety, or who are currently working in a WHS role and wish to enhance their skills and knowledge.

Course Duration & Structure

This qualification is delivered online via our industry leading Learning Management System. Once registered, each student can access and complete the learning materials via both desktop and mobile devices, and complete the course in a self-paced manner. Our interactive training mixes text, video, and embedded learning checks to ensure students are kept engaged.

Each student will have access to our fully qualified assessors via online messaging throughout the duration of the course.

Units of Competency

For a student to be awarded their Certificate IV in Work Health and Safety qualification, they must successfully complete 10 units of competency, 5 core and 5 elective units. 3 of the elective units must be from Group A below, and the remaining 2 units may be from Group A or Group B.

Unit CodeUnit Name
BSBWHS412Assist with workplace compliance with WHS laws
BSBWHS413Contribute to implementation and maintenance of WHS consultation and participation processes
BSBWHS414Contribute to WHS risk management
BSBWHS415Contribute to implementing WHS management systems
BSBWHS416Contribute to workplace incident response

Group A

Unit CodeUnit Name
BSBINS401Analyse and present research information
BSBWHS417Assist with managing WHS implications of return to work
BSBWHS418Assist with managing WHS compliance of contractors
BSBWRT411Write complex documents

Group B

Unit CodeUnit Name
BSBLDR411Demonstrate leadership in the workplace
BSBSTR402Implement continuous improvement

It is recommended that students are able to demonstrate language, literacy, and numeracy skills equivalent to Level 3 of the Australian Core Skills Framework (ACSF).

Recognition of Prior Learning & Credit Transfers

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) is an assessment only process. RPL captures evidence from a student who has learnt a relevant unit in other courses, from life or work experience, and from any training at work. This ‘Prior Learning’ must be relevant to one or more of the units of competency they are enrolling in. A student who is assessed through RPL as competent in a unit is deemed to have completed that unit in the course.

If you believe you have completed a unit of competency in another formal learning experience, you may be eligible for a Credit Transfer (CT). You will have to provide a certified copy of the Statement of Results or Statement of Attainment through the enrolment process as evidence. If a CT is identified, you will not have to complete the unit again.

If you have any questions about the RPL process, your eligibility, or the evidence you would be required to produce you can read more about it here, or get in touch with us here.

Qualification & Statement

On successful completion of BSB41419 — Certificate IV in Work Health and Safety, students will be awarded a Certificate of Qualification. A Statement of Attainment will be issued to students who partially complete the Certificate.

Workplace Health & Safety core blocks stacked on top of each other.

Pathways & Career Opportunities

Students will develop skills that lead to:

Fees & Payment

Full Fee Student

  • RPL Application from $945

    $945 — Required at submission of application

  • Single Unit of Competency $475

    Full payment required at submission of application.

Further Information

Further information about this qualification can be found at